The Corner House – Kent Restaurant of the Year again and it’s no surprise why

The Corner House, Minster – pic ‘borrowed’ from http://www.cornerhouserestaurants.co.uk/

A step away from my normal type of blog. Somewhere in an alternate reality I could happily see myself as food & restaurant reviewer. I mean who doesn’t want to get paid to eat?! Given a career change is unlikely I’m just going to write about one of my favourite places to eat!

The Award Winning Corner House in Minster is the older sister of The Corner House in Canterbury, which has been getting some well-deserved attention of its own from both The Telegraph  and The Guardian recently.

We first discovered this little gem when we were at the Taste of Kent Award dinner a few years ago. They were nominated for Kent Restaurant of the year so we decided that we should check it out as it’s practically on our doorstep. It’s been our ‘go to’ restaurant ever since.  In fact when we re-did our kitchen it almost became our home from home for a few weeks. It was absolutely no surprise to us when they won the award in 2015 and again just last week (9th March 2017).

The team at Minster are super professional yet in a really chilled out and friendly manner and always seem genuinely please to see you and the food is absolutely amazing! Over the years we’ve probably eaten our way through the entire menu and we’ve not found anything we’ve not liked! The Romney Marsh Lamb is a firm favourite and the dauphinoise potatoes they serve with it are one of the few things I’ll forget I’m on a supposedly low carb diet for, they are delicious. Their Brown Bread Ice Cream is another one I’ll forget I’m supposedly low carb for!!

Everything is cooked to perfection and has a real ‘home cooked, amazingly done’ vibe to it and the emphasis on local produce is fantastic. Equally superb is the range of drinks (gin in particular) with a fair few favourites, including Anno, Chapel Down & Curious Brew.

I could quiet happily eat at The Corner House every day and whilst I’m sure my waistline might not thank me for it, my taste buds certainly would. In fact I may even suggest re-doing the kitchen again to justify it!

Leave a Reply

