It’s all in the post

As someone who regularly sends out digital marketing campaigns, I was wondering if the need for ‘hard copy’ postal campaigns still existed. They seem to have fallen out of fashion in recent years!

I took a (somewhat limited) poll in the office and the resounding answer was yes! Everyone still loves something they can touch, feel and more importantly keep. I appreciate this may well only be relevant in certain people, industries, market types and of course my poll did only consist of a few people but I think it’s probably true across much of the board.

I often get people putting flyers on my desk that they have received from an organisation trying to promote their services, usually with the comment, ‘nice marketing, can we do something similar?’ yet the very same people rarely forward me promotional emails and I have to admit it, I love getting promo post (in the work place, not junk mail at home!). It tends to sit on my desk for weeks yet I try to get everything out of my inbox as quickly as possible!

Why is that?

I can only put it down to these days everyone is inundated with emails, yet the amount of hard copy promotion post seems to be dwindling so it’s more of an ‘event’ when you receive it.

In a previous role, whenever a postal campaign went out it was followed up with a telephone call yet the email campaigns weren’t. It was almost as though the thought was, ‘hang on we’re spending money, lets really make sure this campaign actually works’. Whereas when it was an email campaign, it was literally sent and then we waited for the replies rather than following it up. Looking back it now, I’m amazed we didn’t also follow up on the emails, these days I wouldn’t dream of not following up!

From a budgetary & time point of view I fully understand that it’s cheaper / quicker and just simply easier to send a mass email than a mass postal campaign but is it more effective?

I think the only answer here can be … it depends.

Cop out, I know but it does depend upon so many factors such as target market, budget (of course), data available, what you want from the campaign & of course what it is you’re promoting.

I think both mediums have their place & shouldn’t be necessarily be used in an either/or scenario; lets go back to looking at ‘whole’ campaigns again and use all the tools available to us. Everything has its place in marketing and nothing should be discounted even if it’s not the ‘medium of the moment’.

Leave a Reply

